Image

Drokk: Music inspired by Mega-City One

Whilst I’ll admit to a fair bit of geekery I can’t claim to have ever really been into comic books. Some have caught my attention for a while and I do have a bit of a soft spot for more weighty offerings like The Watchmen or Tekkonkinkreet, but for the most part I’m largely ignorant. Not so it seems for Portishead’s Geoff Barrow and BBC composter Ben Salisbury who recently dropped this Capenter-esque gem that honours and references the home of Judge Dredd ‘Mega City One”.

I never read any Judge Dredd comics, nor have I seen more than the first five minutes of the live action film starring Sylvester Stallone, but this album actually saw me scouring the internet for background information about the series thanks to its hugely evocative and resonant effect. I’m not going to go too far into describing the music as I lack the requisite knowledge of the style and subject matter to be able to pass educated comment. All the same, suspenseful bangers like Scope The Block and Miami Lawgivers could floor you on a good surround sound system and the warm, diffused ambiance of Iso Hymn could lull you to into the most beautiful futuristic dreams. All said though Drokk is best appreciated as a complete album, probably more so if you have an idea of what the references mean. One for the Sci-Fi heads.